Monday, August 8, 2016

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris



Blurb from Goodreads: 
Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace.

He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do. Though, you’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.



Things I liked:
1) Grace- I really felt bad for her most of the time. I also felt like she was a strong character also. 

2) The writing of this story was amazing. It felt more like a movie then anything.  I really wanted to know what was going to happen.

3) Millie- My favorite character of this book. She was just so smart even though people didn't think she really was. 


Things I Was Not Fond Of:

1) The only thing I really didn't care for in this book was the ending. I felt like what happened in the first 3/4 of the book deserved a better ending. I felt like the ending was more of an after thought.


My rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

* I received this book from the publisher on a read and review basis* 

Monday, August 1, 2016

After Anna by Alex Lake



Goodreads Blurb:
 A girl is missing. Five years old, taken from outside her school. She has vanished, traceless. The police are at a loss; her parents are beyond grief. Their daughter is lost forever, perhaps dead, perhaps enslaved. But the biggest mystery is yet to come: one week after she was abducted, their daughter is returned. She has no memory of where she has been. And this, for her mother, is just the beginning of the nightmare.


Things I liked:
1) Julia- I really felt bad for her. She did make some mistakes but I really didn't think she deserved a lot of the things that happened to her.

2) The writing of this book was amazing. It was everything I want in a thriller; mysterious and fast paced

3) I liked the different points of views. You knew who was talking at which points. I always enjoy when you don't have to guess.

4) Brian- Another character I felt bad for. Julia was not the nicest to him that is for sure. He did things also but that was because he thought he was protecting him and his daughter.


Things I was not fond of:
1) Edna- I can't really say why but this woman was such a witch.

2) I am not sure if this book is suppose to have a sequel but the ending of this book kind of made it seem like there will be.


 *I received this book from Edelweiss on a read and review basis*

My Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥


 

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Shiny Broken Peices(Tiny Pretty Things #2) by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton





Goodreads Blurb:
June, Bette, and Gigi have given their all to dance at Manhattan’s most elite ballet school. Now they are competing one final time for a spot at the prestigious American Ballet Company. With the stakes higher than ever, these girls have everything to lose…and no one is playing nice.

June is starting to finally see herself as a prima ballerina. However, getting what she wants might cost her everything—including the only boy she’s ever loved. Legacy dancer Bette is determined to clear her name after she was suspended and accused of hurting her rival, Gigi. Even if she returns, though, will she ever regain the spotlight she craves? And Gigi is not going to let Bette—or the other dancers who bullied her—go unpunished. But as revenge consumes her, Gigi may be the one who pays the price.

After years of grueling auditions, torn ribbons, and broken hearts, it all comes down to this last dance. Who will make the cut? And who will lose her dream forever?




Things I liked:
 1) The writing of this book was rather addicting. Once I got into it I could not put it down and had to know what was going on. 

2) June- One of my favorite characters. She does make some questionable decisions but not as bad as the other girls.

3) The drama- I'm sure that its not a good thing that I liked it but still think the way it is done is this story is so good and just makes it that much more enjoyable.

Things I was not fond of:

1) Gigi- I know that I was probably suppose to feel bad for her but I really couldn't. She is just so mean to everyone. 

2) The things these group of girls did to each other were horrible. I really did not feel like most of it was necessary

* I received this book on a read and review basis for free*

My rating:  ♥♥♥♥

Saturday, June 11, 2016

Cinder by Marissa Meyer




Goodreads Blurb:
 Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


Things I liked:
1) I thought this story was unique. It definately was a different spin to what Cinderella stories normally are.

2) Prince Kai- I get why alot of people liked him. I think he was my favorite in this story.

 3) The writing was done well. It got you into the world without giving fluff type information which I am not a fan of most of the time.

Things I Was Not Fond Of:
1) I felt like the plot was a bit weak. It may be just me but there really was not much going on most of the time and I found it boring.

2) Cinder- I liked that she was sarcastic but found her to be rather whiny at times. I also that she was rather annoying as well. 


My rating: ♥♥♥

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

The Hunt(The Cage # 2) by Megan Shepherd



Goodreads Blurb:
After their failed escape attempt, Cora, Lucky, and Mali have been demoted to the lowest level of human captives and placed in a safari-themed environment called the Hunt, along with wild animals and other human outcasts. They must serve new Kindred masters—Cora as a lounge singer, Lucky as an animal wrangler, and Mali as a safari guide—and follow new rules or face dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, Nok and Rolf have been moved into an enormous dollhouse, observed around the clock by Kindred scientists interested in Nok’s pregnancy. And Leon, the only one who successfully escaped, has teamed up with villainous Mosca black-market traders.

The former inhabitants of the Cage are threatened on all fronts—and maybe worst of all, one of the Hunt’s Kindred safari guests begins to play a twisted game of cat and mouse with Cora. Separated and constantly under watch, she and the others must struggle to stay alive, never mind find a way back to each other. When Cassian secretly offers to train Cora to develop her psychic abilities—to prove the worthiness of humanity in a series of tests called the Gauntlet—she’ll have to decide fast if she dares to trust the Kindred who betrayed her, or if she can forge her own way to freedom.
 



Things I liked:

1) Cora- She is still my favorite character in this book. Definitely one of my favorite female characters in a book ever.

2) I really enjoyed how this book started where the first one left off. I always love that!

3) This book was a wild ride. It was really mysterious and you really had no idea who to trust.

4) Cassian- I was not so sure about him in the first book at all but in this one I really thought he brought something special to the story.

Things I was not fond of:

1) The one and only thing I did not like about this book was the ending and that is because it left in a cliff hanger. 



*I received this book on a read and review basis from Edelweiss*

My rating: ♥♥♥♥♥


Monday, May 23, 2016

Please Don't Tell By Laura Tims




Goodreads Blurb
Debut author Laura Tims writes an intense and utterly gripping contemporary YA tale perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars. Joy has done everything to protect her twin sister...including murder.
Joy killed Adam Gordon for what he did to her sister, Grace. At least, that’s what she thinks happened. Now Adam can’t hurt anyone ever again, and her sister can be free from the boy who harmed her.
But someone else knows what Joy did, and they’re going to out her as a cold-blooded killer if she doesn’t expose the scandalous secrets bubbling just below the surface of her mundane town. As the demands escalate, and she finds herself falling for Adam’s half brother, Joy must figure out the blackmailer’s identity before everything spirals out of control


Things I liked:
1) Joy- Although she was kind of all over the place for me I still really think she was an essential part of this book.
2) The writing of this was rather addicting. I just really wanted to know what was going to happen and could not put it down.
3) The twists and turns of this book were amazing. You could predict some things  but not everything that happens.

Things I was not fond of:
1) For me there were a few things in the book that I really did not think were necessary and just took away from the main story.
2) The cussing I was not a big fan of at all. I felt it to be unnecessary most of the time. 

My rating: ♥♥♥♥
*I was given this by Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review*


Sunday, May 22, 2016

The Cage by Megan Shepherd


Goodreads Blurb:
When Cora Mason wakes in a desert, she doesn't know where she is or who put her there. As she explores, she finds an impossible mix of environments—tundra next to desert, farm next to jungle, and a strangely empty town cobbled together from different cultures—all watched over by eerie black windows. And she isn't alone.

Four other teenagers have also been taken: a beautiful model, a tattooed smuggler, a secretive genius, and an army brat who seems to know too much about Cora's past. None of them have a clue as to what happened, and all of them have secrets. As the unlikely group struggles for leadership, they slowly start to trust each other. But when their mysterious jailer—a handsome young guard called Cassian—appears, they realize that their captivity is more terrifying than they could ever imagine: Their captors aren't from Earth. And they have taken the five teenagers for an otherworldly zoo—where the exhibits are humans.


Things I liked:
1) Cora- She did have few flaws but still I found her to be the character that I most related to. She was more level headed then the other characters I think.

2) The writing of this was really mysterious. There were a few shocking factors in this book that I really didn't expect.

3) I liked getting to know the other characters as well. They all had very different stories and you could tell who was who(even if you didn't read the name on the top).


Things I was not fond of:

1) I didn't like how Cora kept obsessing over Cassian. I understand why she did it but still it really bothered me.

2) The ending- This didn't bother me quite as much since the second book I already have but if I didn't I would have been extra upset.


My rating: ♥♥♥♥♥
 

Blog Template by BloggerCandy.com